One of San Antonio's oldest and largest electrical contractors, Nathan Alterman Electric Co., Ltd. commenced operations in 1923 when Nathan Alterman purchased an existing company at the age of 24. During the 1930s and 1940s, downtown remodeling became the mainstay of the business.
Alterman was awarded the first San Antonio River beautification project in the late 1930s. Conduit and wiring along the banks and under bridges were installed to light the Arneson River Theater and the river's walkways. During World War II, Alterman was engaged in military work at the various air force bases in San Antonio and surrounding areas such as Laredo and Del Rio.
In 1949, upon graduation from Texas A & M University, Richard Alterman joined his father's company, becoming president in 1972. In 1968, Alterman completed 30 projects at HemisFair Park for the World's Fair. The experience demonstrated on those projects brought recognition to Alterman as a dependable and qualified electrical contractor. During the growth period of the 1970s and 1980s, Alterman prospered with construction projects that included hospitals, manufacturing plants, hotels, regional shopping malls, and high-rise office buildings.
Alterman became an employee-owned company in 1984. Under the leadership of Jerry Kolinek and Don Kuykendall, the company was structured for strategic growth. With a focus on quality installations, prompt or early completions, and innovative, cost-effective solutions, Alterman continues to offer a superior level of service and demonstrate its commitment to customer success.